Home > Uncategorized > My Best Books of 2010

My Best Books of 2010

December 20, 2010 Leave a comment Go to comments

It’s that time of year where the media does its round-up of “best books.”  Sometimes I agree. Sometimes I just scratch my head. Here’s what I liked and why:

The Cookbook Collector by Allegra Goodman. This should have been the year’s Freedom, if you ask me. Same sort of idea, much lovelier. And it’s a twist on Jane Austen. What’s not to love?

Girl in Translation by Jean Kwok. A well-written tale about a Chinese girl immigrating to New York. It will make you look at immigration differently. It seems like light reading, but I keep finding myself thinking about the characters.

Red Hook Road by Ayelet Waldman. I loved this. It’s elegaic and moving and does a lovely job of tracing all the invisible threads that tie us together whether we like it or not.

Cleopatra by Stacy Schiff. I’m reading this right now, but slooowwly, not because it’s hard to read but because I like it so much. Did you know that Cleopatra wasn’t even Egyptian? I didn’t!

The Wolves of Andover by Kathleen Kent. I blurbed this and loved it. It’s a prequel to The Heretic’s Daughter and covers a fascinating period of American history.

Backseat Saints by Joshilyn Jackson. If you haven’t read any of Joshilyn’s books, lucky you. She is a Southern writer whose characters have an appreciation for liquor, guns, and trouble and boy is she ever fun to read!

I can’t wait to see what the new year brings in terms of book bounty!

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

