Home > Uncategorized > Peas, please, for a Happy New Year

Peas, please, for a Happy New Year

December 30, 2010 Leave a comment Go to comments

Last year got off to the wrong start, I’m pretty sure, because I didn’t have black-eyed peas on New Year’s Day. Let me just iterate that last year pretty much sucked and whether the correlation between a bad year and the failure to ingest black-eyed peas for good luck is true or not, this year I’m not taking any chances. I have a book coming out and a new one in the works, and I want to do well.

So, here’s my plan. I’m making black-eyed peas and chard as a course for my New Year’s Eve dinner and then I’m eating the leftovers for breakfast the next day (I am a weird breakfast person–I can’t stand sweet stuff in the morning, but love things like soup, sauteed cabbage, and Asian dumplings after I’ve had my coffee, sort of as a mid-morning mini-meal).

For good luck in 2011, here’s the plan:

Black-eyed peas soaked and then stewed with a ham hock, onion, celery, carrot and lots of curry. Served scopped on top of a bed of chard simmered in garlic, lime, and coconut milk. If that doesn’t do me and my friends right for the New Year, I don’t know what will! Wishing you the best in 2011, whatever your good luck traditions are.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

