Home > Uncategorized > Make New Friends, But Keep the Old

Make New Friends, But Keep the Old

January 24, 2011 Leave a comment Go to comments

I did it. I actually managed to send The Gilly Salt Sisters to copy editing! And then I had an immediate meltdown.

It’s hard to say good bye to a book after two years spent with the characters, in the setting, worrying all the problems in it over and over again. I mean, sure, you get tired of the whole process, but there’s safety in it, too. These are your people, your problems, for better or worse. After years with them, they come to fit you. You know what your characters like to eat, what music they like, their regrets, their dreams.

And then you send them away.

Always, I forget that there is a measure of grief in this. I picture cracking open the champange, dancing around my kitchen, but, somehow, I never do. I always forget how I feel sort of at-odds with the world, a little naked without the world I’ve summoned up.

What’s the answer? Summon up a new one, of course.  For now, I’m researching a whole new community, a whole new set of people and problems (and boy, are they good ones!). I still miss the Gilly sisters, but luckily, they’ll be coming back to visit both me and everyone else in March of next year. And when they do, I’ll be very glad to see them again. In the meantime, stay tuned for all the little bumps and adventures along the way of putting out a book. Next stop, blurbs!

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

