Home > Uncategorized > Advent of Books

Advent of Books

December 1, 2011 Leave a comment Go to comments

Today, I gave my kids their advent calendars, which they jumped upon with mad glee. I wish I had one of those, I thought. Then, I thought, what a cool idea an advent calander of books would be. Or, better yet, since a book a day might be a bit much, a book every Sunday of advent. In some countries, like Denmark, presents are given on the Sundays of advent. This would be such a lovely tradition. I may just start it this year! My adult choices would be:

State of Wonder by Ann Patchett. So good!

The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern. A magical fun read for this time of year.

Delicate, Edible Birds by Lauren Groff. Because short stories are always fun and these are simply breathtaking.

The Kitchen Diaries by Nigel Slater. Because a cookbook is the perfect present and because his recipes always turn out so well.

Whether you do an advent of books or just a Secret Giving exchange, what would you give? Happy Holidays!

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

